Florida Auto Insurance Requirements
If you are a new or pre-existing driver in the state of Florida, it is imperative that you consider the Florida auto insurance requirements to ensure that you are sufficiently covered in the eyes of the law. There are a variety of components integrated into Florida’s auto insurance laws, therefore you will want to ensure that you are covered by the required insurance offerings. In this article we will delve into passengers, pedestrians, accidents, and how to protect yourself while driving.
Personal Injury Protection
Florida is a no-fault car insurance state, meaning that in the event of a car accident, drivers will need to have insurance coverage pertaining to personal injury protection. As one of the first Florida auto insurance requirements, as a driver you are required to have a policy that provides you with at least $10,000.00 in personal injury protection. If you or anyone else on your insurance policy is in an accident, the PIP benefits will pay for any medical expenses that are incurred due to injuries. They may also pay for non-medically-related costs such as loss of wages or having to hire outside help to take care of your property.
Another part of having PIP protection as one of the Florida auto insurance requirements is that it helps to make the claim filing process simpler. In the event of an accident, each party will turn to their own policy to pay the expenses of their loss. Regardless of who was at-fault during the accident, each party will pay for their own expenses.
Minimum Insurance Requirements
Another component of Florida auto insurance requirements is the total amount of minimum insurance that you are required to carry. Each driver is required to have $10,000.00 in personal injury protection and $10,000.00 in property damage liability benefits. Unlike other states, Florida does not require all drivers to have Bodily Injury Liability coverage, only drivers who have had accidents or violations in the past. It is imperative that every driver in the state of Florida has insurance, otherwise they can have their license suspended if caught driving without the minimum required insurance. Getting your license reinstated is a hassle and quite costly, therefore it is more advantageous to be driving with insurance than without it.
Underinsured and Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Unlike other Florida auto insurance requirements, drivers are not required to purchase underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage. This particular type of coverage must be given to the driver from their insurance company when the driver purchases a policy with their company. If the driver does not want UIM coverage, they can reject it in writing. With the use of UIM, drivers who don’t have insurance or who don’t have enough insurance to cover medical bills and damages in the event of an accident, will have a coverage plan to protect them.
Florida auto insurance minimums help drivers to understand how much coverage they need to be sufficiently prepared for an accident. With the ample amount of laws revolving around Florida auto insurance, it is advised that every driver signs with an insurance company to ensure that they are protected while driving. Visit https://floridainsurancequotes.net/florida-auto-insurance/ today for a quote.